Get to know your Blogger: Paul

Hey dudes and dudettes.  I’m Paul.  I’m from Ripon, Wisconsin.  I’m a graduate student at DePaul University for Jazz Trumpet.  What do you do with a graduate degree in jazz trumpet?  Good question.  You play as much as you can, but mostly, you have way less money than your friends who aren’t getting graduate degrees in jazz trumpet.  I’ve been a fan of baseball ever since I was a little kid.  My dad grew up a fan of the Pittsburgh Pirates – his favorite player was Roberto Clemente – and then became a Brewers fan after moving to Wisconsin.  Ever since he and my older brother gave me a stack of baseball cards (Topps ’93, as you can see to your left, is my all-time favorite set) as a 3-year-old, I have been fascinated with the game – the history, the numbers, the smells, the ballparks.
So let’s get a few things out of the way.  The Milwaukee Brewers are my favorite team.  There is no “other” favorite team.  In the early 2000s, I used to say that the Red Sox were “the team I cheered for in the playoffs because the Brewers were never there,” but after they won the 2004 World Series, they started doing things like spending 300 million dollars on Carl Crawford and Adrian Gonzalez (I know, the extension isn’t official yet) in the same offseason and thus becoming way less cool.  Despite being a resident of Chicago’s north side, I strongly dislike the Cubs.  It gives me pleasure to know that they are still paying millions upon millions of dollars to Alfonso Soriano, and I laugh a little every time Carlos Zambrano blows up.
My favorite baseball player is Vladimir Guerrero.  Don’t ask me why, he just is.  The way he used to hit doubles on balls in the dirt, and the way he doesn’t use batting gloves, and the way he would gun a guy down from the wall in the right field corner, just awesome.  My favorite Brewer is Rickie Weeks, but he needs to sign an extension before I can elevate him to favorite player status.  If he leaves in free agency, he will break my heart.
I enjoy other sports as well.  I am a Bucks fan, and I’m really hoping that the Brandon Jennings/Andrew Bogut superhero duo is legit, and gets Wisconsin some badly needed postseason basketball success.  Aaron Rodgers is a BAMF.  So is Clay Matthews.  Al Harris is one of the coolest Packer players ever.  I still like Brett Favre (may the streak rest in peace), even though he seems to have sat down and made a to-do list of all of the things that he could possibly do to make Packer fans dislike him.
Other than that, I spend most of my time playing trumpet.  It’s a pretty good time.  I think this is the start of a beautiful friendship.

One Response

  1. Paul sounds like a fake name…

Leave a Reply

